phono stage

We all start somewhere
shaun
User

#1 phono stage

Post by shaun »

hi all

hopefully this is the right place for the less confident people like me :D

i'm thinking of trying a phono stage and would appreciate some input from you all. i find myself quite interested in the one shot eq idea even though it has it's own problems i fell quite keen to give it a go. i'm just at the thinking stage but the current idea revolve around using a 6c45p (donated by dave dove) as the input /gain valve into a directly coupled RIAA stage(in a Brian Epstien stylie) driving an aikido. my (nicks)current phono is quite a distance from the rest of my set up so the aikido might be nice. so the next thing is to do some maths and see where that goes :roll:

the big question is ''is it a bad idea?'' has anyone here tried this?. i'm still a bit new to all of this. i guess the best way to find out is to build and i'm happy to take my chances on how it will sound :twisted: but dont want to waste time on something doomed from the start.

anyone had any experience with such a thing?

from what i've read the 6c45p has a tendancy to oscillate but the MU of 50 and high GM look very interesting and well suited to the perpose.

any how i'll have a think and come up with something a bit more solid in terms of a design but if it's a crapp idea fell free to say so.

take care

shaun
shaun
User

Post by shaun »

ok to answer my own question

it's a crapp idea

i just did a block diagram and i can see why it wont work. deerrr

so i'm going to need to cap couple to the aikido. :evil: and it sounded like such a good idea. oh well i would still like some input on that if that's ok :?:
Andrew
Eternally single

Post by Andrew »

Hi Shaun