Anyone here understand tuning PID controllers?

Subjects that don't have their own home
jack
Thermionic Monk Status

#1 Anyone here understand tuning PID controllers?

Post by jack »

I'm experimenting with a PID-based controller for warming honey, but the controller is oscillating round the set point.

The controller I'm using is a MyPin TD4 - very common controller but not in this scenario.

I'm using 2 x 40W incandescent bulbs for my heating element and an old fridge as my insulated warming cabinet - the bulbs go in the bottom....

As expected, close to the set point, the heating goes on or off as appropriate but it oscillates a bit on about a one second cycle.

I've no experience in tuning PID controllers... anyone here have a clue?

Ta!

PXL_20230603_162929975_copy_1008x756.jpg
PXL_20230603_162929975_copy_1008x756.jpg (177.46 KiB) Viewed 4378 times
PXL_20230603_162919836_copy_1008x756.jpg
PXL_20230603_162919836_copy_1008x756.jpg (125.25 KiB) Viewed 4378 times
PXL_20230603_163617033_copy_1008x756.jpg
PXL_20230603_163617033_copy_1008x756.jpg (195.88 KiB) Viewed 4378 times
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
Nick
Site Admin

#2 Re: Anyone here understand tuning PID controllers?

Post by Nick »

Turn I and D to 0. turn up P until it just starts to oscillate. back P down 25%. Then turn I up until it starts to overshoot. Turn down 20%. Turn up D just so you feel you are getting your moneys worth, but in my experience unless you have a fast system with a rapidly moving setpoint it won;t matter that much. Can work to allow increased I without as much overshoot so get closer to setpoint quicker.

There are several algorithms to derive optimum values based on the systems response to step functions, but IME unless its a system you have written yourself, or the tuning alg is on the device you are using, you will never know exactly how the units of the derived values map to the controller you are using.