Any unwanted 3c24's or equiv. anyone?
If so, please - how many, how much?
Rgds
David.
nic
User

#2 Re: 3c24

Post by nic »

I have some Heintz and Kaufman 3C24 going spare . NOS but boxes have disintegrated . You do know the caveats of using these valves ?

cheers

Nic
ACPEN
User

#3 Re: 3c24

Post by ACPEN »

Hi Nic
Thanks for your email - I am aware of certain necessary procedures regarding first use after long storage, and have despite this had a few filament failures - interested in hearing your advice please...
Regards
David
nic
User

#4 Re: 3c24

Post by nic »

It's not just the filament , although the filaments are fragile with spiral filament thoriated tungsten valves like 3C24 . Running fils only at first use can help condition a valve , some valves do get hopelessly gassy and can't be recovered . You need to operate the valves with some colour in the anode for correct operation as these valves are self-gettered . If using as a driver I find running a minimum of 6mA gets some colour on the anode , keep the grid leak as low as possible , say 50k or use a grid choke . If running as a A2 power stage , you will need heat dissipators for both the anode and grid pins . These are uninsulated so will need some shrouding around the valve . I would advise running conservatively , far too many designs out there running these things ragged . I'll dig a few out and test
Nick
Site Admin

#5 Re: 3c24

Post by Nick »

I remember having to play the same games with 100tl's

I ran them on filament only for a bit then with the grid and filament connected ran them with a bench HT supply to get the anode red. I have some of the finned grid and anode connectors somewhere to get heat out of the valve.
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
nic
User

#6 Re: 3c24

Post by nic »

100TL is a lucky find :)
ACPEN
User

#7 Re: 3c24

Post by ACPEN »