Wanted: digital slr camera

Caveat emptor, Caveat venditor
Ant
Shed dweller

#1 Wanted: digital slr camera

Post by Ant »

As it says, im after a proper dslr camera.

Never had one, i have wanted one for a long time but being only passively interesred ive just used phone cameras.
I have been more enthusiastic of late.

Ideally id like a canon eos dslr as the other 2 35mm cameras are canon with ef mount lenses,so sticking with that makes sense so lenses can be bought that will work with all 3.
Not averse to different manufacturers stuff though, thats just a logical thing to do
Ive been looking at stuff like the eos1000d and 450d, 10, 12 megapixel stuff. As a beginner i dont think i need anything more complicated or modern than that sort of kit.

Anyone got anything that would fit the bill?
Also starring Rex Hamilton as Abraham Lincoln

www.bte-designs.weebly.com
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#2 Re: Wanted: digital slr camera

Post by pre65 »

With regard to Canon EF mount lens's.

If you have genuine Canon EF lens's they should work on film and digital cameras.

Older non Canon EF lens's may work on film cameras but not digital.

Guess how I know that. :wink:

I have an EOS40d (same as Simon) and it's as technical as I can handle. I'd like a more modern version with a proper stereo sound video capability, but I'm resisting. :)
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Ant
Shed dweller

#3 Re: Wanted: digital slr camera

Post by Ant »

Yep exactly phil, we have a pair of genuine canon ef lenses off the 35mm cameras which will swap over onto a eos d body. From my reading it appears that ef lenses are forwards compatible so to speak and ef-s dlsr lenses are not backwards compatible. Means i can get a body only eos dlsr and potentially save some money

pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#4 Re: Wanted: digital slr camera

Post by pre65 »