Definitive Build

What people are working on at the moment
Daniel Quinn
Old Hand

#1 Definitive Build

Post by Daniel Quinn »

I've been doing diy for 4 years . I started because i'm stubborn [ 1 arm Isn't going to stop me], I was suddenly poorer and I needed something to do.

I'm not a natural diyer , if it hadnt been for the brain bleed I would have been content with NVA. Though Richards death and real world prices mean it was much less attractive.

Ive made about 37 amps. All solid state and all with the same power supply.( transformer, bridge and caps) The only thing that differed was the size of transformer, caps and the amp boards. I've now settled on the amp boards . fm300 £120 from China. Its well made , as minimal components and even fewer capacitors. .

time as come to do my definitive build. Which is why im seeking the collective advise of audio talk. They are to made of acrylic as thier predessors were in tribute to richard.

is it worthwhile shielding the transformer?
the best connection wire?
size of transformer and capacitors
any modifications to power supply?
are connectors made of copper or' audiophile' materials a waste of money

And anything anybody as learnt whilst building their own amps and now would'nt build an amp without it
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#2 Re: Definitive Build

Post by pre65 »

Sometimes a picture, or diagram is of use.

Try doing a sketch of your power supply, with component values, then we can comment.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Nick
Site Admin

#3 Re: Definitive Build

Post by Nick »

My 2d

"is it worthwhile shielding the transformer?"
No, but I would think about getting some from toroidy.pl I have found them to be much better made than ones from RS or Rapid in the sizes that you will be using.

"the best connection wire?"