FOverture5

For the three and more legged things
little eddy
Old Hand

#1 FOverture5

Post by little eddy »

Start of another long slog, this time venturing into the dessert.

After my initial foray with my Cheap as Chips amp using bargain Chinese LM3886 and 6J1 pre-amp boards/kits, I am once again inspired following positive comments on the Pass F5 and also seeing some of Nick's behemoths.

So this is my first project as I consider my planned retirement. No rush, and potentially plenty of time to try and get it right (read no excuses).

But this imminent change of lifestyle is not going to have me shrug off my nurtured frugal attributes. I find myself somewhere between the two amp extremes, probably lacking the confidence to jump straight in and build an F5 that would probably be circa £400 for a vanilla 25W jobbie.

So with the LM3886 chips sometimes being referred to as Overture, the thread name suggests a blend of the two, perhaps a gradual morphing to my aspired F5.

One book lent to me by Nick (still to be returned) talks about the character of an amp being determined by the driver stage, so perhaps this could be an opportunity to find my oasis. So if it all goes well the amp will probably be stripped down into a power amp and I can then think about a SET pre-amp.

Time to start planning my route and get some good heat sinks for this hot journey.
TD-125/RB250/MC25FL & 'Snail' phono, NAS/SBT with CS4398 DAC, 41MP pre & MoFo Power, still messing with OBs.
Nick
Site Admin

#2 Re: FOverture5

Post by Nick »

If it helps at all, I use heatsinks from

http://www.fischerelektronik.de/en/home-en/

UK supplier is

http://www.dau-components.co.uk/
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power

#3 Re: FOverture5

Post by Mike H »

Added to favourites...

"No matter how fast light travels it finds that the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it."
ed