Newbie in dire straits

Dedicated to those large boxes at one end of the room
bapu
User

#1 Newbie in dire straits

Post by bapu »

Hi all. I have resently come to the conclusion that fullrange speakers sound better than the 2 and 2,5 way speakers i have been building for the last 5 years.

But i have to start somewhere and i just don't know where. I'm thinking a small floorestanding speaker with aprox 40 - 60 liters basreflex.

Now to the question. Could you fine people please point me in the direction of a speaker unit that will do a fine job in such a box.

I first thought of the tangband 1772 8" but i was adwised against it so now i dont know what to think.

Sincerely Michael :D
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by pre65 »

I'd say the Frugal-horn mk 3 was well worth considering.

Mine have Fostex drivers but some say the Mark Audio drivers are preferable. :wink:

http://www.frugal-horn.com/FH3.html
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

Post by Paul Barker »

I wouldn't say I advised against it, I just wanted to redress the imbalance of opinions.

It would be good if more people with knowledge of the Tangband gave their opinions to keep it balanced.
"Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I am not yet completely sure about the universe." – Albert Einstein
Ali Tait
Eternally single

Post by Ali Tait »

I've heard a few boxes using the Mark Audio A12P. A very good driver for the money to my ears. I have a pair I've yet to try in my open baffles.
Andrew
Eternally single

Post by Andrew »

The Tangband didn't light any fires for me, like Ali I prefer the Alpair 12P for what it does well; it does very well.

Andrew
Analogue, the lost world that lies between 0 and 1.
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

Post by Paul Barker »