Raspberry Pi UPnP Music Renderer

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Ray P
No idea why I do this anymore

#1 Raspberry Pi UPnP Music Renderer

Post by Ray P »

My interest piqued by Stephens squeezeslave adventure, I got to wondering about a Raspberry Pi based rendering solution for my own computer audio system based around JRiver media centre using UpnP/DLNA.

Hardware wise the HiFiberry digital output card ( http://www.hifiberry.com/hbdigi ) on a RaspberryPi seems the way to go but with all these things it's the software that is the challenging bit but there does seem to be most of a solution available

http://blog.scphillips.com/2013/07/play ... revisited/

I used to code for a living but that was more than 20yrs ago so I'm outside my comfort zone at the moment.

Does anyone have experience in this area or alternative suggestions?

Ray
Ray P

Post by Ray P »

Looks like I'll have to blaze the trail here then!

I've just ordered a Raspberry Pi and powersupply from the ModMyPi shop.

Will update in due course

Ray
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

Post by Paul Barker »

Sounds like something I would follow you with.

When that new spdif is brought to market it should be top banna standard should it? I know nothing about digital. Except that my muse spdif is apparently pants these days.

I've never done squesebox or anything else to date. RPi may be my entry into what is it called? streaming?
Last edited by Paul Barker on Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I am not yet completely sure about the universe." – Albert Einstein
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by pre65 »

Paul Barker wrote:Sounds like something I would follow you with.
And me. :)
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
izzy wizzy
Old Hand

Post by izzy wizzy »