Lab equipment for a complete beginner

We all start somewhere
figlet108
User

#1 Lab equipment for a complete beginner

Post by figlet108 »

My background is in computer architecture and software.
My electronics knowledge and experience is minimal.
Currently this is my bedtime reading:

I want to invest in some good lab equipment that will last for many many years without the need for replacement or update.

Right now I think my priorities are:
1) A good bench multimeter.
I am being seduced by the shiny you tube videos for the likes of Agilent, e.g. the 34461A (£700), or a Rigol, e.g. DM3068 (£550)

But for analogue audio, amps, power supplies etc, what features are must-haves, what are nice-to-haves, what are complete-waste-of-money-not-haves
I don't mind paying money for an investment that's worthwhile.

2) A good digital oscilloscope
Obviously it's audio I care about and so far I've only come across one by picoscope that seems to have been designed with analogue/audio in mind: the 4262 with 16 (20) bit resolution at £750

I don't just want these for the immediate projects I have in mind but kit that will last that I'll grow into and not find limiting 5 years from now.

thanks folks
Jason
Andrew
Eternally single

Post by Andrew »

I don't think you need to spend as much as that on a DMM, not to start with, I would suggest at the quality end of the market the small Fluke or Agilent range, or go cheap end and have a look at what Rapid can supply.

http://www.home.agilent.com/en/pc-10000 ... =GB&lc=eng

http://www.tester.co.uk/fluke-175-true- ... tAodHRcAEg

http://www.rapidonline.com/Test-Measure ... ultimeters

Rapid do a suitable scope for a few of hundred, UNI-T I think. I believe a few folk on here have these scopes and have found them fine for the job. On the other hand, most quality scopes are pretty much bomb proof so e-bay could be a good way if you fancy second hand.

http://www.rapidonline.com/Test-Measure ... ope-500789