Squeezebox Touch basics.

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Dave the bass
Amstrad Tower of Power

#1 Squeezebox Touch basics.

Post by Dave the bass »

I want to make in-roads into the world of digital music replay. The SBT is a cheapish way of 'getting in' and seems popular. No-one locally (AFAIK) has one so I've a few questions to ask before plunging into the local PC World with a wadge of notes.

Ideally I'd like to be able to stream wirelessly from the 'study room' to the SBT which will be in the main listening area without the main house computer (a fairly old and large PC running XP...) being on all the time. If I've got this right this means (I think) investing in some NAS or as our-Chris mentioned a 'fit-pc' as the size of the software required for the Squeezebox server is getting bigger and the (limited?) memory on any NAS might not be enough. I think I've got that right.

I'm a total newbie here.

The NAS/fit-pc will be in the 'study' room as is the 'house PC' and stream to the SBT which is in the separate 'main listening area', this is so fan noise and (even more than normal) clutter isn't an issue in the main listening area. Also, i don't want to have to crank up the ancient old PC everytime we want to listen to the SBT. Make sense so far? I hope so. The modern Netgear Wireless Router is in the study too.