streaming dropout

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
ed
retired

#1 streaming dropout

Post by ed »

strangest thing happened on the way to the forum.....

I've been messing with the main music system to run these seas speakers with DSP. This has meant removing Squeezebox and replacing it with a laptop, in order to run the DSP host(wavelab and latterly foobar).

Although the laptop has some wav files locally I have been streaming from the music server via the same wires that SB uses normally(homeplug network).

I have been getting dropouts...not serious, but dropouts nonetheless. Now to it, I have been raving about homeplugs for the last 5 or 6 years, and today, for the first time, I am suspicious.

I looked at everything I could think of and finally decided to put a trace on the network usage to the laptop.....

here is the trace at the time of the dropout:
Attachments
dropout.jpg
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be
ed
retired

Post by ed »

here is the trace at the changeover between songs, to show the different behaviour....I would not like to blame the homeplugs without much more evidence, but at the moment I can't think of anywhere else to look. The SB never drops out and realtime streaming to the laptop does....I don't know what percentage of the network bandwidth is used by slimserver but I can't imagine it's any more than in realtime(i.e about 1%). All I can think of is that the SB does dropout but because of it's buffering, it's not noticed....

anybody got any ideas??

edit: I should mention that I havn't experienced the problem while using local wav files on the laptop.
Attachments
newsong.jpg
The Stratmangler
Shed dweller

Post by The Stratmangler »

Have you still got Slimserver running ?
If you have then it might possibly be hogging the resources on your NAS.
Chris :happy3:
ed
retired

Post by ed »

Have you still got Slimserver running ?