A late hello

To cut down on spam, we tend to remove users that haven't posted anything after a day or so, so this is the place to say hi for the first time.
jfs
User

#1 A late hello

Post by jfs »

hi - my name is John and I have been fiddling with hi-fi and basic audiofoolery for some 40 years.
Nothing esoteric I'm afraid, just what I saw as particularly good value for money.
Electronics wise, I couldn't lay egg to bacon but can wire a x/over and with limited but effective woodworking skills have made numerous published loudspeaker designs - some I have regretted disposing of over the years.
My first 'system' consisted of :- BSR mcDonald HT70 turntable and Empire cartridge, Rotel 310 Amp and Wharfedale unit 3 kit loudspeakers - I was thrilled with it.
My present 'system' comprises of :- Goldring GL75 in a cl plinth with a mission 774 arm and Denon dl160 cartridge, Sony CDP 930, Sugden A21a Amp and JR149 speakers supplemented by a BK subwoofer.
I believe that good audio needn't be expensive, its finding what goes with what that can be the expensive part.
My present project is to build a speaker pair designed around the Jordan JX92s drive unit. Silly I know but I have never heard a pair, but got them for half price - well it would be rude not to try wouldn't it.
I hope in the future that I can bring a little to the forum based purely upon experience rather than hearsay. Like most of the contributors on this forum - I have no snob values, so whatever rocks your boat. If it sounds right, then it is right.

Regards

John
Nick
Site Admin

Post by Nick »

Too late so say Hi, did that already :-)
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
jfs
User

Post by jfs »

Thanks Nick, this really does appear to be an incredibly helpful and good natured forum. I hope that I can give as much as I have gleened from it.

John
Ali Tait
Eternally single

Post by Ali Tait »