Hello from Somerset!

To cut down on spam, we tend to remove users that haven't posted anything after a day or so, so this is the place to say hi for the first time.
theoldtrout
User

#1 Hello from Somerset!

Post by theoldtrout »

Hello to all from Somerset! I hope I am able to make a worthwhile contribution and to pass on my experience of many failures and a few successes; also I'm always interested in new ideas - and old ones. I've been building amplifiers and loudspeaker systems on and off most of my life and have a penchant for anything with valves. I have worked mainly in the electronics industry and started my career designing and developing equipment for use in science education. As far as audio stuff goes, I'm just a bungling amateur but enjoy experimenting, in particular with valve power amplifier topology.

Over the years I've owned various Garrard, Thorens and Rega turntables, Radford ST12, STA15 and STA25 amplifiers as well as Quad and Leak amps [and some Japanese amps] Loudspeakers from Radford, Kef, Celestion and Tannoy to name a few.

My current modest setup: Rega P3, Denon DL110, Rega Planet CD, home built passive pre-amp with valve phono stage [currently being modified again], home built power amp [UL EL34's] home made TL loudspeakers very similar to Bailey/Chris Rogers, cables are home made using good quality parts. I also have what was a high end Technics amp, a Radford HD250 amp, a Nytech 252 tuner-amp [given to me by Arthur Radford] a Tascam 32B reel to reel, an Aiwa cassette deck, a Rotel fm tuner, also a DAB tuner that only gets used to listen to the comedy hour on BBC Radio7!

Music: huge LP collection mainly Jazz, Opera and orchestral, and a couple of hundred CD's and tapes.

Some of you may know me from diyaudio and the Vintage Wireless forum. Sorry this is a long introduction.
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by pre65 »

Hi there, and welcome.

Looks like you will be at home here. :wink: :lol: