Upgrading to SqueezeCenter

Dedicated to the silver disk spinner
simon
Thermionic Monk Status

#1 Upgrading to SqueezeCenter

Post by simon »

Now then chaps, I'm looking for some guidance and reassurance from those in the know!

I've just bought a Squeezebox Duet to go with my SB3 but it won't recognise my QNAP NAS drive. Looking around it seems the Duet only works with SqueezeCenter, not SlimServer which came pre-installed on the QNAP.

So it looks like I'm going to have to update the QNAP, but I'm not sure what to expect or how to do it, and I'm more than a little concerned I'm going to turn it into a very expensive brick :cry:. I'm currently backing up my music (just in case) and downloading SC 7.3.2. I'm hoping when the download is complete it'll tell me what to do with it but can someone be so kind as to give me an idiot's guide of how I get it on the QNAP? Please assume I have no knowledge of how to do this!

Thanks,
Simon.
andrew Ivimey
Social Sevices have been notified

Post by andrew Ivimey »

arf! I don't uinderstand a word, Simon.

I hope someone else out there does!
Cressy Snr
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by Cressy Snr »

Hi Simon.

I think the Linux guys will probably need to chime in here. I can't really see it being a drag and drop installation.

Steve
Sgt. Baker started talkin’ with a Bullhorn in his hand.
Neal
Shed dweller

Post by Neal »

Have your tried the SD forums? Seems to be a number of threads including this mammoth one!

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthrea ... eezecenter

Some instructions on p34, not sure if they are applicable t o your setup.
simon
Thermionic Monk Status

Post by simon »

Page 34? Oh crap!

Now I remember why I bought the QNAP with SlimServer pre-installed. I'll be back in about a week, but whether I'll understand any of it...
simon
Thermionic Monk Status

Post by simon »

BTW, thanks for the link Neal, and the legwork. I can see this is going to be a bit of a trial.
simon
Thermionic Monk Status

Post by simon »