Regulator heatsink

We all start somewhere
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#1 Regulator heatsink

Post by pre65 »

Hi-i am new to working with regulators and i would like some advice on whether the heatsink i have made for the regulator on my PT15 heater supply is good enough before i bolt it all together.

The reg is mounted on a purpose built heatsink which is mounted on a piece of alloy angle 6"long X 1.5 "X1.5" X1/16 thick.

I have lodged a photo in photobucket

http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n146 ... ink002.jpg
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Darren
Old Hand

Post by Darren »

Hi Philip, you need to look at the manufactures PDF files for that reg, the info should be there for you.
Nick
Site Admin

Post by Nick »

Well, I would guess the angle bracket will do as much (if not more) than the heatsink. I assume the regulator is isolated from teh metalwork?

It depends on what power you are getting the reg to provide. to know that, we need to know the voltage (average) thats supplying the reg. The resistors you have after it, and the voltage you intend to supply the valve with, and the current you expect at that voltage.

What TX are you using to supply the reg?

Without getting on the old soapbox, this is why breadboarding first makes life a lot simpiler, by the time you come to cutting metal, you will know how the regulator is going to run, and more to the point, you will know what the amp will sound like, so you will know if its worth the bother cutting all the metal, or if not, you may have found the changes needed to make it sound better.

If it gets to hot, it should just shutdown anyway. As long as the rest of the circuit is happy without the PT15 fil lit all that will happen is the light goes out.
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power